Skip to content

Nothingness

04/06/2010

A part of my final project proposal: Give me a window seat and let me zone out. I don’t want to be here but I do. I don’t want to think ahead but I want different things now. I stay busy because I can’t relax, or at least my head can’t. I am happy but awaiting. For the next 6 weeks my camera will be muse. Try and make sense of something so ever changing.

I typed in on google…nothingness. I came across this artist Kathy Chin, a graduate from UCLA with a double major in Psychobiology and Women’s Studies. This is what she says about her work, “Coming from an existential perspective, my focus in art has been on the artifacts of everyday life. I am interested in found objects and their history. From the discarded, the abandoned, I get a glimpse into anonymous lives. Looking into the personal, the mundane, I come closer to understanding universal drives, especially those of my own.”

I am not sure how I feel about some of her images, most of them are simple snapshots. I can’t tell which side of the line they lie on. Are they aesthetic snapshots with ‘intentionality’ or simple I-Phone images? Either way, I liked these ones and a few more on her site. This isn’t exactly what my project will be about, I just like the idea of her last sentence in her artist statement:

Looking into the personal, the mundane, I come closer to understanding universal drives, especially those of my own.

Check out her site: Kathy Chin

Kathy Chin

Kathy Chin

Kathy Chin

Kathy Chin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

