Skip to content

Pizza Hut

04/14/2010

Just got back the first few rolls shot for my final. Here is an example of what I’m going for image+text wise. The text accompanying this piece is the only bit about the location I could find online. Luckily I’ve been given access to the Howard County Historical Society’s newspaper archive so the final piece will be shown with either the original or scan of the original article.

Tim Anderson, Untitled

Scott Jory Brill, one of two men accused of fatally stabbing and strangling 14-year-old Ashley Nicole Mason and stashing her body in woods behind a Columbia Pizza Hut, was convicted Thursday of first- degree murder.

Thoughts & Ideas?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/15/2010 02:09

    So is the historical aspect of the place what makes this more elevated than a normal picture of a forest?

    • ninethings permalink
      04/17/2010 19:47

      Will, thanks for the recommendations, the Chalmers work is great. Chelsea, I think with the rest of the locations as well as with the text and the places history the image will be more than just a “normal picture of a forest,” however you choose to define that. Finally, Jared, I think something that will help conveying that weight (have yet to see the results…. chrome….) in the images will come with some of the more time specific images. (For those of you I havent discussed this with yet, I plan to make each image as close as possible to the time the event actually took place.) I’ll be posting more work-in-progress later on in the week.

  2. pavloskaralis permalink
    04/15/2010 04:44

    I like it; makes me look for signs of the event, and ask questions like “is that why the flags are there?” or “is that the pizza hut in the background?”

    Some things to ask yourself:

    Does the picture need to be of the real location?
    Does the event itself even need to be real?

    Chances are we’ll believe it if you present it as true; that fact that you’re pulling from newspapers for captions though shows your intent to be to make them truthful, documentary

  3. Will permalink
    04/15/2010 14:36

    Look at two photographers working in similar territory. Stephen Chalmers’ “Dumpsites” and Joel Sternfeld’s book “On This Site”.

  4. sjwinston permalink
    04/16/2010 00:00

    I like this image a lot, and the others that I have seen too. They are beautifully constructed and captured. However, I’ve been wondering some of the same things that Pavlos has mentioned.
    Does the scene pictured need to be the real location?
    Do I need specific stories of each location to know that something dark occurred at these locations?
    Knowing nothing of the history of EC, Maryland, it seems possible that this photograph could be any place. The eeriness is achieved through the photograph. The caption is interesting but I’m not sure if its necessary.
    Still, bravo.

  5. ninethings permalink
    04/16/2010 18:44

    I don’t think if it is or is not the place is entirely relevant, although my images are the actual locations and I think there’s something in knowing and relaying that. I believe that accompanying each image with the text will help reiterate and enforce the confrontation I’m trying to achieve and as for the reality of each event, I plan on having them with the news paper article from the time it happened. I could construct an article but I don’t think it would be worth the effort when I already have most of them collected nor do I think it would be as strong. I dont know what the “something” I referred to earlier is quite yet, but I do think that knowing the image is of the actual place holds some power.

  6. 04/17/2010 02:37

    I agree, Tim. Using the actual sites does give the image a certain power and gravity, and I believe that your role as some sort of documentarian is important with this work. It keeps it honest and gives the pictures an integrity that they would not have if you just found unrelated locations or made up fictitious murders. Pavlos and Sara both are getting to something important, though – that the “truth” captured in the photograph is the ultimate goal, that it is the feeling you imbue into the image that is most important. The emotional and psychological weight of the event must come through the landscape and the photograph so that the audience can access the essential qualities without ever knowing the full story or by reading a caption.

  7. Diana permalink
    04/20/2010 16:39

    Looking at this at first I thought of Taryn Simon, her work The Innocents. She photographed the wrongfully convicted at they place “they” committed the crime. Your image reminds me of that, minus the person in it. I agree with the questions everyone seems to be asking, if the place actually need to be the real place, or do the stories even have to be real. I don’t think so, your image above captured such a specific feeling it maybe that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

