Skip to content

Attention to Moments

04/27/2010

With the photographic approach of visual journaling in mind, it seems important to reference Rinko Kawauchi.   Kawauchi is a contemporary Japanese photographer that has gained international attention from her beautifully captured and sequenced photographic books.  Her palette and subject matter evoke feelings and reactions to the quirks of ordinary life that are often overlooked and hardly photographed for later reflection.

Rinko Kawauchi, Untitled, from the series, Utatane, 2001

Rinko Kawauchi, Untitled, from the series "Aila", 2004

she interweaves sensitized ways of perceiving the world
around her, with the fleeting conflations of forms that make
you wonder how one photographer mangaged to be present,
attuned and ready to photograph so many pungent
observations. once rinko kawauchi said:
‘for a photographer, it’s a necessity that you can shoot stuff
magically. accidents are necessary, but after I take a
photograph, it is not all done. I continue to work on it.’

I also have a similar reaction to work of some fellow Corcoran students, soon to be alumni, Michelle Yo and Justine Tobiasz, by means of their Senior thesis work:

Michelle Yo, from the series, Everything's Coming up Roses, 2010

Justine Tobiasz, from the series, In Limbo, 2010

So, as I anxiously await my film to be ready for pickup tomorrow, I consider others that make whimsical photographs in this style of personal documentation.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cortlandt Glover permalink
    04/28/2010 23:31

    Rinko Kawauchi is one of my favorite photographers! When I was working for Charlottesville’s festival of the photograph, they asked me to give Martin Parr a drive to the airport (kind of bragging here, haha). As we were talking about photography, he told me to check out Rinko’s work b/c he thought I would like it. Indeed, Martin Parr, I do. He also told me to check out another Japanese photographer, whose name I can’t remember and am always looking for. All I know is his/her name starts with an N. But I love a lot of Japanese photographers, including Takashi Homma.

  2. Jared Ragland permalink*
    04/30/2010 14:18

    We often talk about the ‘tone’ of a body of work or artist’s oeuvre and its interesting to think about how a photograph can have an audible volume and can feel either loud or quiet. All of this work has a very quiet quality to me, which is interesting to think about as you edit your pictures – it can essentially be a play of whispers and hushes…

Leave a Reply

