Skip to content

Ichy Feet

04/30/2010

I will preface this post with a warning of sorts, because it’s going to be all over the place.

First.

With New Orleans/ the South continuously on mind and my restless feet aching to get out, I was pleasantly surprised when I found a preview of Ned Sublette’s book The Year Before The Flood. Ned moved to New Orleans a little over a year before hurricane Katrina hit and actually moved away just weeks before it all happened. From the preview it seems like it is going to be a mix of narrative, essay, and photographs; with a lot of focus on the local music and people. He paints such a vivid picture of his drive south and of the culture of the road trip. It will be interesting to see if the book holds up to the preview.

Second.

In keep with New Orleans, I found a video of a 1956 Mardi Gras parade and a collection of photos from that same years parade.

Third.

When first seeing David S. Allee’s work, I thought of Pavlos’s work and Will Knipshers’s. I don’t know how to express why I like his photographs so much, other than how pleasing they are both color and composition wise.

Last.

I seem to have a knack for rediscovering work that I have previously viewed and liked, as is the case with Doug Aitken’s Blow Debris.The video evokes a sense of wanderlust and travel, while also a discomfort. The video being twenty videos, I suggest watching the whole thing, but if you do not have the time just skip ahead to fifteen minutes and watch from there.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jared Ragland permalink*
    05/01/2010 00:34

    Since our discussion in class the other day and discussing Graceland further, I’ve not been able to get Paul Simon’s song Graceland out of my head. My favorite lines:

    And she said losing love
    Is like a window in your heart
    Everybody sees you’re blown apart
    Everybody sees the wind blow
    I’m going to graceland

    • jordan permalink
      05/01/2010 00:40

      That album was on repeat for a lot of the trip and definitely set a tone for travel.

      • Jared Ragland permalink*
        05/01/2010 01:22

        ps – tinactin.

Leave a Reply

